Story Of My Soul

soul

If they ever tell my story,
let them say I walked alone.
My morality seeping
through my veins
which my heart pumped
till the last breath of my life
until they corrupted me

with their dry tears
and hypo critic emotions,
when they buried me.

If they ever tell my story,
let them say I lived with my dreams
inside of me, caged in a broken cage
afraid to make an escape
because of the trap laid by
reality to tame them
into docile, wild animals,
now harmless and passionless,
yet, full of resent.

And,
If they ever tell my story,
let them say, I lived.
I lived,
like a shadow
escaping under the darkness,
for darkness was not my foe,
but an ally to help me
hide and confiscate
my pain, my remorse to
become feeling-less
and rise with all my might,
to avenge my honour
and conquer back again,
my soul . . .

– Kabir Malik
© 09/02/2016

